Is she an easy lover?/Don’t you want somebody to love?

I watched an old (1997) Michael Douglas movie last night- The Game. I was introducing it to a friend for the first. Great movie with some big twists at the end. The kind of movie you can’t tell anyone about because you’ll ruin it. Anyway during the credits a song was playing who I thought sounded like Jefferson Airplane. Some freaky great lyrics that were really captivating my friend and I especially in the “state” we were in at the time. Quite a fitting song. Singing about magic mushrooms and hallucinatory Alice In Wonderland, it was really groovy, if you know what I mean. So eagerly waiting for the song credits to come up we discovered the song was non other than “White Rabbit” by Jefferson Airplane. This got me into YouTube mode because I knew a few other Jefferson Airplane songs and knew they were a psychedelic band from the ’60s. So before playing “(Don’t you want) Somebody To Love” we played the white rabbit clip over and over.

While of course I wikipedia’d (?) Grace Slick who was the singer with JA and wrote those songs. Apparently she was invited to the White House for a function while Nixon was in power. But she was stopped at security because they found out she was on the FBI black list and worried that she would try and slip some LCD into Nixon’s coffee!!! To wit she doesn’t deny.

I then made a tangent to Jefferson Airplane on wiki because I knew that the famous 1985 songs “We built this city on Rock n Roll” and “Sara”, and 1987’s “Nothing’s gonna stop us now” were performed by a Starship. And low and behold the 1980’s group Starship derived from Jefferson Starship which changed from Jefferson Airplane. Lot’s of break-ups and rights stealing and lawyers plagued them over the next 20-odd years. “We Built This City” coincidentally was written by Bernie Taupin, who as you know wrote all of Elton Johns songs.

For some reason I woke up this morning with the Phil Collins song “She’s an easy lover” in my head. Well to be honest with you it’s been running through my head for a few days. I think it has a catchy beat to it, and I could remember the video clip from the ’80s, and that it was a duet with a black singer. I couldn’t remember who the other singer was so I YouTubed it and there it was, the whole video clip. The other singer was Phil Bailey, who is the lead singer of Earth Wind and Fire. He was also in the movie Full Metal Jacket.

Which was a freaky coincidence because I only just saw Earth Wind and Fire in concert here in Singapore about 3 weeks ago! They rocked the place. Not a single person was sitting down. And all 3 original members were jumping and dancing around non-stop. A very good effort considering they’re in their 60’s now.

0 Responses to “Is she an easy lover?/Don’t you want somebody to love?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




January 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031