Archive for January 19th, 2010

Do American Television Producers Know The Meaning Of Creativity?

So I visited my YouTube home page and went to a link of a clip from the David Letterman show, who explains what’s going on with all the late night TV show movements of Jay Leno, Conan etc. Even if we don’t get these shows in real time here we have all heard jokes and discussions slagging off NBC. This clip pretty much explains the “in” joke of American TV.

But these late night shows are just further evidence showing how conservative and unimaginable the American entertainment industry is. And keep in mind I’m talking about TV here. I’ll discuss how Hollywood screw up most things in another post. I’m only writing about this subject now because I’ve seen some clips on YouTube and now I’m on a role expressing my disappointment, because I don’t really watch TV at home.

So going back to the lack of imagination and originality that is American TV. Across 3 stations there are something like 7 “Late night with..” programs. And every single one is exactly the same. A host who opens with a very conservative comedic monologue, a house band, a desk and two seats for the guests. Then interviews, a comedy sketch thrown in, and that’s it. Really! I mean talk about lameness with a capital “L”. And the sad thing is that the rest of the world look up to the Americans thinking they are the epitome of entertainment, and how to put a show together! Are American TV viewers that brain dead to fall for the same routine over and over again, without questioning the creativity of it’s producers? An even sadder thing is, and I’ve seen a Discovery Channel documentary about this, is that these late night shows are actually scripted and rehearsed. The monologue and especially the interviews aren’t ad-lib, spur-of-the-moment conversations. The actors and host are given their lines.

And another thing I can’t get my head around is that there was this big deal about Jay Leno retiring. But I’ve recently seen him doing a new show, which is another interview/variety show, which is set-up exactly the same as the late night show he just retired from! What the….? Honestly if that’s America’s idea for starting a fresh, new career out of retirement then god help their entertainment industry.

Don’t get me started on Conan O’Brien. How he ended up on TV in the first place is bewildering. Doesn’t anyone else find his big 1980’s style hair, his large forehead (or 5.5-head) and those nasty looking beady eyes totally off-putting? I saw some of Jimmy Kimble aswell. Does that guy ever smile, laugh, express positive emotions through his face? He’s so dry and monotone. Twat!

Luckily for me there was another clip on the right panel that allowed me to go off on a tangent. Check out this lovely young lady below. I’m not too sure what she talks about, or even is she actually speaks, but damn fine to watch. Something about Japan or jugs, or something. I think she has a name aswell.

Not much to say about this one below. Just some humour after my earlier ramble.

Then I flew to this link because with a title this this and the fact that it’s on YouTube must bring out the curiosity in you. Do you believe her? Does she have to carry some tax card around with her just in case she gets pulled up by the cops and she needs to prove that she’s registered and pays tax on her milk money?


January 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031